Fitness Friday 6/29

A recap of this week’s efforts to maintain a strong, healthy body….and some other stuff I did this week that you probably could care less about. Enjoy!

Saturday: Rest day. We headed down to Hastings to celebrate my 10 year class reunion…wow, time flies!  We all piled into busses and made our way to Stillwater. Our awesome class officers rented a huge riverboat and hired a DJ. Threw a few back with old classmates and caught up with people I hadn’t seen in years. We had a great time – I wish we could do it every year!

Sunday: Pride weekend in Minneapolis is nothing short of an absolute blast. It has become a tradition for us to ride our bikes downtown and walk through the vendor area, people watch, and have a couple of beers with friends. Some of the craziest outfits ever can all be seen in Loring Park on this weekend each year. I think my eardrums are still recovering from the booming music at Bar Lurcat.  It was a perfect day for the 12 mile ride there and back.

Monday: I have a really hard time setting foot in the gym when it’s gorgeous outside. So on Monday I decided to go for a run around Lake Calhoun. Once around the lake and I felt like I still had energy to burn…so I kept going. After about another mile, a full 2nd lap around the lake seemed ungodly far, so I turned around and headed back. 4.8 total miles in 46 minutes. I’ll save the 2 lap run for next week – gotta get in some longer distances to prep for my first 10K in 2 weeks!


Tuesday: I had a business partner in town for the day to do some training, and some co-workers and I were lucky enough to get some GREAT tickets for the Twins game vs. the White Sox. Our Twins lost 3-2, but our seats in the Legends Club were about as good as it gets – right behind home plate. To save downtown Minneapolis from even more traffic congestion, I decided to bike down to Target Field (11.1 miles round trip). You know…just doing my part to save the planet 🙂

Wednesday: Had an unexpected but welcomed free day, as I got called off of work at my 2nd job. Whoop! It was crazy hot outside and I didn’t want to make the same mistake I did last week, so I decided to pop in a workout DVD. I wanted to get it out of the way quickly (Bingo and pizza were waiting), so I opted for the 25 minute Medicine Ball Core Cardio video. Let me just say that I LOVE this workout. It is super quick for those days when you don’t have an hour to exercise, involves intervals, core, butt, and arms, and leaves you dripping at the end. Check it out.

Thursday: Off to the gym. A 20 minute warm-up on the stationary bike followed by 18 sets of shoulders, biceps, and triceps, with a few extras like 25lb dumbbell side bends and calf raises added in. It feels great to get back into lifting after several months away from it!


Photo Credits: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5


How did your workouts go this week? Did you try anything new? How do you combat the heat and humidity?

Categories: Fitness | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

