Fitness Friday 7/6

A recap of this week’s efforts to maintain a strong, healthy body.

Sunday: I bought new running shoes (Asics 2170s) and had been itching to try them out for a whole day. I’m not very patient, apparently. Although it was 97 degrees and humid outside, I decided to do an easy run to break them in. After 3.1 miles around the golf course, I lay in a pool of my own sweat on my hardwood floor to try and cool down. It works for the dog, so I thought I’d give it a shot.

My new shoes!

Monday: P90X Chest, Shoulders, & Triceps. The various pushups in this workout kick my butt…and I like it.

Tuesday: Boot Camp class at LA Fitness. This was my first time ever going to this class and it’s pretty fun. Several different stations changing it up with pushups, abs, tricep dips, lunges, grapevines, weights, heavy bags, etc. Much more challenging than some of the other classes. Other than falling on my butt off the elevated step (resulting in a bruised right cheek), it was a great way to mix things up. I will DEFINITELY be going back to this one.

Wednesday: Happy Birthday, USA! The heat this week has been crazy. I knew once we got up to the cabin I would not get any exercise in, so I clawed my way out of bed at 6AM and went for a 3.4 mile run around our neighborhood. Even so early in the morning, it was already 89 degrees and about 90% humidity. Yuck. It was also eerily deserted in my neighborhood….like the apocalypse or something. I only saw 2 people and one car on my run. Everyone must have locked themselves away in their air conditioned houses for the holiday.

We had a great fireworks show up at the cabin, courtesy of my stepdad 🙂 I managed to capture a few good shots:

Thursday: Up at the cabin in Turtle Lake Wisconsin, eating, drinking, and playing games with the family. This is truly what life is all about. I did lots of swimming in the lake and probably managed to knock out at least 2/3 mile. Also, does Goofy Golf (AKA ladder golf, polish horseshoes) count as exercise? …No?

Today: The heat and humidity finally let up!  Looking forward to a comfortable run and some waterskiing later today.  We are LOVING our lake vacation!


How did your workouts go this week? Did you do anything fun for the 4th of July?

Photo Credits: Goofy Golf, P90X, pushup

Categories: Fitness | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

