Mill Valley Kitchen

Mill Valley Kitchen is a relatively new restaurant in the Uptown/St. Louis park area. I drive by it on a regular basis and have been itching to try it out since it opened last year. A couple of clients in from out of state made the perfect excuse for a work lunch.

Mill Valley is unique in that they strive to use local and sustainably-sourced ingredients so everything on the menu is extremely fresh. Each menu item also includes the nutritional information such as the calorie, fat, carb, and protein content of the dish.

The ambiance is modern, fresh, and clean, with a fairly upscale feel. The restaurant has a nice patio and valet service if you don’t want to deal with the area’s sparse parking. The menu includes salads, burgers, flatbread pizzas, a few select entrees, and even fresh smoothies.

I started with a cup of the vegan chili. As I’ve mentioned before, I love chili but I honestly think that our secret recipe is top notch…so I’m pretty bad at judging others on their chili prowess. It was, then, just okay in my opinion. Not spicy, but with nice chunks of veggies.

I had the warm spinach salad with strawberries, basil, walnuts, and goat cheese (hold the red onion). I also added salmon. The goat cheese was melted and essentially created a dressing for the spinach. I LOVE LOVE LOVE goat cheese, so this was a winner for me.

The others at our table humored me while I photographed their lunches, validating any suspicions about me being a huge nerd.

Italian Chicken Sausage, Green Pepper, Mushroom, and Onion Flatbread:

Shrimp Noodle Salad with Cucumber Slaw:

 

The Bottom Line

The atmosphere is very welcoming at Mill Valley. It’s definitely a good choice for a business lunch, but I think it may be a bit upscale for my general taste…for lunch, anyway. That being said, the food was quite good and I’d like to go back and try one of their flatbread pizzas.

I’m not sure if I like seeing all the nutritional info on the menu or not. Yes, I’m a health nut, so you’d think I would be all over that. It IS smart to know what you’re putting in your body, but at the same time, it kinda takes the fun out of eating at a restaurant…right?  What do you think about this?

Yum Rating: 7.5/10

Categories: Dining Out | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Mill Valley Kitchen

  1. I checked out the menu and it seems interesting. Thanks for posting your review and the photos. I like seeing the nutritional value…it helps me to eat healthier.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

