Crispy Kale Chips

We all know how dangerous potato chips can be. “oh, I’ll just have one…” turns into half a bag.

I am a huge fan of salty snacks. I used to require a daily dose of Cheez-its to make it through my day. Luckily, I managed to kick that habit, but I occasionally still pine for something crunchy and salty to nosh on.

Kale chips are one of the new fad items for organic/low carb/heath food eaters out there…they are popping up all over grocery stores like Trader Joe’s, Byerly’s, and Whole Foods. I have contemplated buying a bag….until I see the price tag – SEVEN DOLLARS for a tiny bag of “chips”?  Thanks, but I’ll pass.

So I decided to experiment with making them myself at home.

Ingredients

1 bunch Kale

1 tablespoon olive oil

¼ tsp seasoned salt

¼ tsp garlic powder

¼ tsp cayenne pepper

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Wash and dry kale.
  3. Remove kale leaves from their thick stems and tear into small pieces.
  4. Drizzle the pieces with olive oil and toss to coat, then sprinkle on remaining seasonings.
  5. Bake 10-15 minutes until the edges are brown and the kale is crispy.
  6. Snack away…without guilt!

Yes, I ate the entire batch by myself in one sitting. But I don’t mind, because it only contains 58 calories and 2.8 grams of fat per serving (about 5 servings total per batch). How do they compare to potato chips? I’m not going to lie…they are no perfect substitute. But if you’re looking for a low-carb salty snack option that won’t make you feel bad the next day, these kale chips are a decent alternative.


What’s your favorite salty snack?

Categories: Recipes | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

