Spirit of the Lakes 10K

 

I signed up for the Spirit of the Lakes 10K race in Mound a month or so beforehand, with every intention of training for this distance. I had cranked out 6 miles a couple of times on random days when I was feeling particularly ambitious, but had not consistently run more than my regular 3.5 mile loop around the golf course. So I went into this event feeling pretty unprepared to say the least. Lucky for me, this year was the very first time this race has been held, so it was somewhat small and not at all intimidating 🙂

I made sure to properly hydrate for several days prior, as I have made the mistake of not drinking enough water before, then bonked halfway through the race.  When the gun went off, I had to keep mentally repeating that I would pace myself, and not try to keep up with those runners who would inevitably pass me.

So I did just that. The course was VERY hilly and wound in and out of neighborhoods. Plus, it was getting hotter and more humid by the minute. There were 3 people ahead of me that I kept in view the whole race. The last couple of miles, I realized I still had plenty of gas left in the tank, so I picked up speed and ended up passing all 3 of them during the last mile…glad I started out slow!

According to CardioTrainer, my times were:

Mile 1: 9:04
Mile 2: 8:57
Mile 3: 9:16
Mile 4: 9:06
Mile 5: 9:10
Mile 6: 8:33

I crossed the finish at 54:46, according to the race clock. I took 2nd in my age group, with the winner coming in just 14 seconds ahead of me. This was a nice opportunity for me to see if I like longer distances, as I’m considering trying a ½ marathon or 10-miler before the snow flies. I decided that I like doing longer distance races, but I hate training for them…it’s just so boring!  Maybe I need to join a running club or something to keep me entertained during long, lonely training runs…ideas??

 

How do you motivate yourself to do long training runs? Do you run with a buddy or group, or rely on your ipod for entertainment?

Categories: Fitness | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

