Wilde Roast Cafe


The St. Anthony Main area is such a nice dining spot. Right across the Mississippi from downtown Minneapolis, it’s great for people watching and relaxing in the summertime. I wrote about Tugg’s Tavern here….now let’s move a block down the street.

Wilde Roast Café is located in what was formerly a salsa club called Picosa. We had been out a couple of times to dance, and (more so) to watch people who could actually salsa dance. Apparently, Picosa wasn’t doing so well and shut its doors last summer. Wilde Roast Café was previously located just down the street, and jumped at the opportunity to expand its space three fold. After a $300,000 renovation, the restaurant reopened on St. Anthony Main.

I absolutely love the atmosphere of the restaurant. The décor is kind of hipster chic, with warm draperies and big booths. They also have a great 45 seat patio overlooking the river. At dinner, the restaurant is full-service, whereas at lunchtime, you order from the counter and a server brings over your meals when ready. We first visited Wilde Roast for the Dining out for Life event in April; a date in which the restaurant donated a full 30% of its proceeds to AIDS service organizations. I really liked the spot, so I suggested it again for a business lunch.

I ordered the blackberry salad, which included feta and toasted almonds over a bed of spinach, and was drizzled with blackberry vinaigrette. I loved the dressing, and somehow resisted the urge to actually lick my plate when I was finished.

My lunch guest chose the four cheese flatbread pizza – cheddar jack, mozzarella, and goat cheese. YUM.

The Bottom Line

I think Wilde Roast will do very well in this new location. It fits right in with the hipster vibe along the river, and I love the cozy atmosphere. It’s a little expensive for frequent visits, but I will definitely make a trip back someday to try out one of their other unique flatbread pizzas (roast duck pizza?  I’m intrigued….)

Yum Rating: 8/10

Categories: Dining Out | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

