Foodie Pen Pals – July

This was my first month participating in the Foodie Pen Pals program. I love a good surprise, so I was excited to see what kind of goodies would show up on my doorstep. This month, I was paired up with Amber, who blogs over at Hello Sweet Potato. She mailed me this:

Apparently, I was so ravenous when I got home from work that day, I couldn’t wait to open up the Pumpkin Seed Cheddar Crispbreads. They were yummy paired with some cashew butter!

Amber also sent me World Table olive tapenade. I tend to be somewhat overwhelmed by the pungent olive flavor in tapenades, so I plan on finding a unique way to use this. I’d like to try mixing a dollop with some goat cheese or cream cheese and spreading it on a wrap or turkey burger. Any other ideas you guys have to dilute the olive flavor a bit, but still make use of a quality tapenade?

Dill Pickle flavored sunflower seeds – I have a 6 ½ hour road trip to Chicago this week, and sunflower seeds are a great car trip snack. These will be joining me.

Sugar cookie flavored herbal tea – yum! I haven’t tried this yet. But how could it not be good?

Lentil Couscous – Strangely enough, I am a newbie to couscous. Looking forward to trying this out. It will make an appearance in my lunch bag later this week when my salad greens run out!

Thanks, Amber, for a fun box of goodies!

And a special thanks to Lindsey at The Lean Green Bean for coordinating!

***************************************************************************************************

My personal foodie pen pal was Destinee, who doesn’t have her own blog, but who graciously provided me with a great review of the box I sent her to share with all of you!! Destinee writes:

**I would like to share with you the wonderful food and snacks I received from my foodie pen pal. Ashley was my pen pal, and she bought me a lot of delicious goodies.**

1. Archer Farms Pineapple Wedges- I always see these Pineapple Wedges in target, but I never bought them. So far I bought three more packs. This is a really good snack for me to have at work.
2. Roasted Seaweed Snack- I was a little scared of these at first, because I’m not a big seaweed fan. Well I am now! These are delicious and also a good snack. My Mom loved them.
3. Trader Joe’s Himalayan Pink Salt Crystals- I haven’t used the salt yet, because it just looks so pretty on my spice rack. 🙂
4. Trader Joe’s Apple Banana fruit wrap- This was The first thing I ate. I only had half, because my niece ate the rest. She wanted me to go buy some more. This was very delicious.
5. GoGo Squeeze Apple Banana on the go Applesauce- I’m a big applesauce fan, On the go applesauce is the way to go. I love how I can just twist the top off and squeeze it on out.
6. Trader Joe’s Dried Cranberries- These cranberries were really good with my oatmeal and the cranberries muffins I made.
7. Trader Joe’s Fast Flavor Sticks- You can’t go wrong with 15 calories per stick. The flavor I had was pomegranate cherry. These stick made me enjoy my water a lot better.
8. Trader Ming’s Sesame Soy Ginger Vinaigrette- I actually use this vinaigrette to saute all my vegetables. It gives the veggie a real good flavor.
9. Turkey and Veggie Soup- This is Ashley’s recipe, and we made the soup last week. The soup was really easy to make, and my family loved it.
Thanks Ashley for opening my eyes to new foods to try.
Destinee***************************************************************************************************

WANNA PARTICIPATE IN FOODIE PEN PALS??

Here are some details about Foodie Penpals.  In case you’re a new reader, this is what the program is all about:

-On the 5th of every month, you will receive your penpal pairing via email. It will be your responsibility to contact your penpal and get their mailing address and any other information you might need like allergies or dietary restrictions.

-You will have until the 15th of the month to put your box of goodies in the mail. On the last day of the month, you will post about the goodies you received from your penpal!

-The boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treats! The spending limit is $15. The box must also include something written. This can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe…use your imagination!

-You are responsible for figuring out the best way to ship your items depending on their size and how fragile they are. (Don’t forget about flat rate boxes!)

-Foodie Penpals is open to blog readers as well as bloggers. If you’re a reader and you get paired with a blogger, you are to write a short guest post for your penpal to post on their blog about what you received. If two readers are paired together, neither needs to worry about writing a post for that month.

-Foodie Penplas is open to US & Canadian residents.  Please note, Canadian Residents will be paired with other Canadians only. We’ve determined things might get too slow and backed up if we’re trying to send foods through customs across the border from US to Canada and vice versa.

If you’re interested in participating, please CLICK HERE to fill out the participation form and read the terms and conditions.

Categories: Miscellaneous Musings, More Eats | Tags: | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Foodie Pen Pals – July

  1. Pingback: I’m a Foodie Pen Pal! « hellosweetpotato

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

