Fitness Friday 8/3

A recap of this week’s efforts to maintain a strong, healthy body…

I am currently out of town, having driven to Chicago late last night…so, this is not a typical Fitness Friday post. We’re spending the weekend in the windy city with several of our best friends, some of whom we haven’t seen since February.

I.AM.PUMPED!

This was a very abnormal week for me. We had a prescheduled appointment on Monday and I was scheduled to work on both Tuesday and Wednesday nights at job #2…and work LATE I did.  Workout plans=derailed.

I did have just enough time to do the P90x+ Interval X DVD on Monday before our appt. I LOVE this workout and always end up a sweaty mess afterward. My calves were sore for 2 days.

Triatha-what?

As I mentioned earlier, I decided (just last week) that I really wanted to get another triathlon under my belt this summer. Having taken a serious hiatus from swimming and biking, I most certainly will not be breaking any records (training? Pphffft… ;)). I registered for the YWCA Women’s Triathlon on the LAST POSSIBLE DAY (Tues). This tri is next Sunday, Aug 12th – so if anyone wants to come and watch me stumble around and trudge in and out of Lake Nokomis, stop on by for the show!

Luckily, I got a preview of the swim course (my weak spot) on Sunday. I was able to do the same to prep for my first triathlon in Buffalo. Having the chance to swim the course ahead of time definitely helps to ease my mind. It doesn’t make me any more of a proficient swimmer, but at least I’m confident that the course is do-able.

Workin’ it, Chicago-style

Today, we’re biking around Chicago and eating lots of junk food on the Bikes, Bites, and Brews tour. How awesome is that!? Touristy, yes…but still a total blast. I love doing dorky stuff like this. Does 14 miles of “moderate” biking cancel out the calories from Chicago dogs, deep dish pizza, cupcakes, and beer….no?  Damn.


Hope you had a fabulous week!

Does anyone else register for events at the last possible second like me?

Ever done a dorky tourist biking tour?

Categories: Fitness | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

