Fitness Friday 8/10

A recap of this week’s efforts to maintain a strong, healthy body.

Reminder: Go to yesterday’s post and register to win a free bottle of SportSense! I’m going to keep reminding you until the contest closes next Thursday…so you may as well do it now.

Saturday: we were in Chicago last weekend, so, aside from our food-centered 14-mile Bike Tour on Friday (noshing on deep dish pizza, cupcakes, and Chicago dogs – wow), there wasn’t much exercise to be had. Well, I suppose we did a decent amount of walking (note: don’t wear heels in Chicago. The L is always  one too many blocks away).

Sunday: Raise the roof if you love driving 7 hours on a beautiful, sunny, 80 degree day! No? Anyone?  We drove home from Chi-town on Sunday, ate a bunch of junk food along the way to keep ourselves entertained, and got home around 6:30pm. I was feeling antsy pantsy, so I planned on biking to the gym, only to find a ripped bike tube waiting for me. Craptastic. So instead I drove to the gym and swam ½ mile, then did a 3 mile run when I got home. It felt good to sweat a little after a long weekend of piggishness.


Monday: Rest day – met up with some buddies after work for a painting class. So much fun – I painted THIS and got to take it home!  What do you think? Don’t worry; I won’t quit my day job.

Tuesday: I headed to Lake Calhoun after work. Biked to the beach and hopped in. I am glad to have had the chance to practice open water swimming again. It’s soooo very different from the nice clear gym pool. And frankly, I SUCK at swimming so I could use all the practice I can get. I swam for about ½ hour (back and forth around the outside swimming buoys) while I waited for my biking buddy to get there. We hopped on our bikes and rode about 9 miles around Lake Harriet and Calhoun (2x). It’s nice to finally have a friend to ride and run with! Training alone gets boooo-ring.

Wednesday: We decided to keep our buddy system going. Jeff and I met up again after work and ran around the lake. An easy enough jog to chat the whole way made the time go by super-fast (and I didn’t even use my trusty ipod – success!). 4.7 mile run in 45 minutes.


Thursday:
Resting up for the triathlon on Sunday!


How did YOUR workouts go this week? How many rest days do you generally take before an event?

photo credits: heels, Calhoun

Categories: Fitness | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

