Fitness Friday 9/7

A recap of this week’s efforts to maintain a strong, healthy body…

 

We spent last weekend relaxing at the cabin, singing songs around the campfire, reading, and playing games with family. I have to say that I’m super bummed that summer is coming to an end…*sigh*

Saturday: In an effort to not be the laziest loser on earth over the weekend, I went for an easy 3.2 mile sunset jog on the country roads near the cabin. I only saw one car…much more peaceful than running in the city.

 

Sunday: 114 pushups on my new fun Android App – “100 Pushups”. Then, more lazing by the lake and sunburns  🙂

 

Monday: It’s called Labor Day for a reason, people! We refrained from doing much of anything strenuous and cleaned out our DVR after driving home from the cabin. Yay!

 


Tuesday:
I got called off of work early and decided to do Mike’s Workout. Thanks hunny!

Wednesday: Geared up for my dreaded “long run”. I’m toying with the idea of doing the Monster Dash ½ marathon in October, but every time I go out for a long run, I get more discouraged. This one was my personal distance record to date at 8.2 miles (around lakes Calhoun and Harriet). It actually felt better than my previous 7.5 mile run in terms of knee pain and speed (woo!), but for some reason I felt completely nauseous the last 2 miles (boo!). I have a feeling that my problem is a lack of glycogen. Because we follow a paleo-style diet, I’m not fueling up like the typical distance athlete. We simply don’t eat bread, pasta, potatoes, rice, etc. regularly. I should probably be taking in WAAAAY more carbohydrates than I currently do if I am going to keep increasing my distance.  Time to stock up on sweet potatoes for the days preceding those long runs.

 

 

Thursday:I wanted to give my knees a break after Wednesday’s run, so I did 30 minutes on the stair mill at the gym while watching some horrible reality TV, then completed another 100 or so pushups.

 

How did your workouts go this week? Any other paleo eaters out there with marathon fueling advice?

Categories: Fitness | Tags: , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Fitness Friday 9/7

  1. I’d be curious to hear a report on your longer runs after eating differently. I just finished the basic Couch to 5K program (signed up for first race ever in Oct) and am regularly running 3 miles a few times a week now.

    Not every time, but now and then I get a bad headache after running. Pretty sure I’m hydrating enough. I’ve been eating a Paleo diet as well and wondered if that had anything to do with it. Not sure if 3 mi is enough to make much of a difference though.

    • Hm…interesting. I didn’t begin having issues until I had worked up to about 7.5 miles at a stretch. but headaches after running definitely sounds like low glucose or sodium. Maybe try an electrolyte tablet in your water (I use nuun) before and after your runs…?

      • I might have to try that. Thanks. In thinking about it, the headaches occurred during the runs in hotter temps when I’ve been forced to go later than normal. I don’t think I’ve had any when it’s below 75, as I usually run early in the morning. Maybe that’s all it is.

      • Gotcha. Hotter= more sweaty = additional sodium loss. I would just try taking in some salt after the run and see if it helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

