Challenged

 

Woah. Sorry guys, I have completely fallen off the map for the past month or so. Not to worry though. I’m still alive.  Let’s just say that both work and personal commitments have put blogging on the back burner. Typing away on my computer all day at work has left my creative juices pretty drained, leaving none left for you folks. In addition to a rough couple of months at work, I also began triathlon training again 5 weeks ago.

triathlon logo

On my New Year’s Resolution post, I decided to announce to the world that I plan on attempting an Olympic distance triathlon this year. I think that I failed to realize the accountability I would feel in making such a statement. I would hate for you guys to think I’m a failure, so I am going to pressure myself to do the dang thing and make you proud.

 

That being said, I am now working through an Olympic distance training program, which keeps me in the gym for 1 ½ – 2 hours almost every day (also contributing to my absence here on the blog). Swimming, biking, and running my butt off so that hopefully I won’t keel over when the time comes for the event.

 

Here’s my problem…I haven’t registered for an Olympic tri yet. I’m still a little worried about my abilities in the open water. And since the Minnesota winter has dragged on into early May, it looks like I won’t be hopping into the lakes anytime too soon. I do plan on participating in a sprint distance event at the end of June, so hopefully that will get me juiced up and boost my confidence about the longer distance.

 

I hope to use this blog as an outlet to document my progress and challenges along the way. In the meantime, thanks for sticking around. I expect to continue providing you with hours, or at least minutes, of quality entertainment in the form of recipes, race recaps, fitness tips, and random ridiculous musings.

 

Cheers,

Ashley

Categories: Miscellaneous Musings | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Challenged

  1. Pingback: Peru Travel Plans and a Change of Race Plans | Sore Legs & Scrambled Eggs

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

